I wanted to share with an update about the “Stem Cell Research and Initatives” bill. HF 287/SF 162 did pass in the Iowa House 51-47, and will be signed into law by Governor Chet Culver. This bill overturns the 2002 ban on human cloning (Iowa Code 707B) that banned both theraputic cloning & reproductive cloning. Theraputic cloning (somatic cell nuclear transfer) will be allowed (and funded for at the University of Iowa) for the purpose of embryonic stem cell research. You can read my earlier posts on this topic.
I am personally disappointed, but Chuck Hurley, the president of Iowa Family Policy Center share in an e-mail today a reminder from scripture:

Therefore, my dear brothers, stand firm. Let nothing move you. Always give
yourselves fully to the work of the Lord, because you know that your labor in
the Lord is not in vain, (1 Corinthians 15:58).

Let us not become weary in doing good, for at the proper time we will reap
a harvest if we do not give up, (Galatians 6:9).

Below are how our representatives voted. If you would like to contact your representative you can find out their contact information at: http://www.legis.state.ia.us/FindLeg/. They need to hear a rebuke from us if they voted in favor of this terrible bill, or a thank you if they voted no..
Yes–51 votes for SF 162
Abdul-Samad, Bailey, Bell, Berry, Bukta, Cohoon, Dandekar, Davitt, Foege, Ford, Frevert, Gaskill, Gayman, Heddens, Hunter, Huser, Jacoby, Jochum, Kelley, Kressig, Kuhn, Lensing, Lykam, Mascher, McCarthy, Miller, H., Oldson, Olson, D., Olson, R., Olson, T., Palmer, Petersen, Pettengill, Quirk, Reichert, Schueller, Shomshor, Smith, Staed, Swaim, Taylor, D., Taylor, T., Thomas, Wendt, Wenthe, Wessel-Kroeschell, Whitaker, Whitead, Winckler, Wise, Mr. Speaker Murphy.

No—47 votes against SF 162
Alons, Anderson, Arnold, Baudler, De Boef, Boal, Chambers, Clute, Deyoe, Dolecheck, Drake, Forristall, Gipp, Granzow, Grassley, Greiner, Heaton, Hoffman, Huseman, Jacobs, Kaufmann, Lukan, May, Mertz, Miller, L., Olson, S., Paulsen, Raecker, Rants, Rasmussen, Rayhons, Reasoner, Roberts, Sands, Schickel, Soderberg, Struyk, Tjepkes, Tomenga, Tymeson, Upmeyer, Van Engelenhoven, Van Fossen, Watts, Wiencek, Windschitl, Worthan.

Get CT In Your Inbox!

Don't miss a single update.

You May Also Like

Wasting Time On The Clock

Fox News reported today about a Salary.com survey which found that employees…

May Visitors

For the month of May, visitors came from: Countries (18): United States,…

Friday Friends Open Thread

Changing this up a bit.  I’m going to start doing daily open…

I have now officially seen it all….

A drunk squirrel – I think I have a theme going on…