Credible sources say there is a possibility that State Senator Swati Dandekar (D-Marion) will be appointed to the Public Utilities Board by Governor Terry Brandstad.  If this is true then we’ll have an open seat in Senate District 18, which has the potential to be a Republican pick-up.  This would make a 25 seat tie in the Iowa Senate.

Update: By the way, I’d just like to point out that I broke this story :).  It has now been confirmed, Branstad will appoint Dandekar.  He will need to call for a special election within 5 days of announcement.  The earliest a special election can take place is within 45 days.  Gay marriage among other items will be primary issues in the race to claim this unexpected open seat.

2nd Update: The Branstad administration sent out a press release announcing the special election date: “Gov. Terry E. Branstad today set a Special Election date of November 8, 2011, to fill Senate District 18. The seat became vacant today after Senator Swati Dandekar resigned from her Senate seat to serve on the Iowa Utilities Board. Gov. Branstad had five days to choose a date for the election.  The Special Election will coincide with city elections.”

  1. Shane- if the GOP wins the seat and the Senate is tied, 25-25, will the GOP be able to bring the marriage amendment to the floor? I’ve heard conflicting reports. 

Comments are closed.

Get CT In Your Inbox!

Don't miss a single update.

You May Also Like

Pro-Life Group Highlights Fred Hubbell’s Support for Abortion

Iowa pro-life group, Right Life Action, launched a campaign pointing out Democratic gubernatorial nominee Fred Hubbell’s extreme support for abortion.

Iowa Governor-Elect Branstad Names Rod Roberts as head of Iowa Department of Inspections and Appeals

(URBANDALE) – Gov.-Elect Terry Branstad today announced that State Rep. Rod Roberts…

“Undecided” Leads Iowa U.S. Senate Republican Primary

(Des Moines, IA) An internal poll conducted by the Mark Jacobs U.S.…

Eight Action Items for the Iowa Legislature

Shane Vander Hart shares his wish list for the new Republican Iowa Legislature when they are sworn in and gavel in for a new session this upcoming January.