I wasn’t able to live blog the Iowa GOP state central committee meeting as their wifi wasn’t working properly. I live tweeted it instead from my phone.  As expected, A.J. Spiker won re-election as chair of the Republican Party of Iowa edging out Bill Schickel 13 votes to 5.  I’ve embedded some of the “money tweets” below.  Also I’d like to apologize to Bill Schickel as I repeatedly misspelled his name in my tweets.  Sorry Bill!

















An addendum to the quote above, Schickel gave the caveat if they supported his plans/goals, etc.



I spoke with Tamara Scott, Iowa’s Republican National Committeewoman after the vote and she said, “I think that the agreement coming from the committee meeting today, with members wanting to move forward in a unified fashion   to do what is best for the 600,000 Republicans across the state.”

Iowa Republican National Committeeman Steve Scheffler said, “I think it was a harmonious day.  We elected the leadership for the next two years and now I think it is incumbent on everybody to get behind the team and figure out how we can elect a Republican slate in 2014 and 16.  So we have differences from time to time, but by and large we are together on issues and we just need to major on the majors and not major on the minors.”

A.J. Spiker said following the state central committee meeting, “I was very pleased with the 13 to 5 vote count.  Bill is a very capable, worthy opponent to be running against for the state chairman position.  To receive 13 votes of the 18 committee members I felt very good about their view of how I conducted myself as chairman and their decision to retain me.”  When he was elected early in 2012 to fill the vacancy left by Matt Strawn the vote count was 9 to 8, but there were additional members of Campaign for Liberty who were elected to the state central committee since.  He received votes beyond members with that background however.

The Co-Chair race was between David Fischer who was also one of Ron Paul’s Iowa co-chairs along with A.J. Spiker, Eric Rosenthal and Wes Enos.  Fischer won with 11 votes, Rosenthal had 4 votes and Enos had 3.  Mark Doland was unopposed for the Secretary’s position when Wes Enos was nominated, but said he’d withdraw.  John Kabitzke was unopposed for the treasurers position.

Some tweets during the co-chair race I’d like to highlight:



Johnson nominated Wes Enos.



A correction to the tweet above, it should say, “our party needs to be about more than protecting incumbents.”




A side note, the state central committee later in the meeting formed a voting fraud task force.

A.J. Spiker in an official statement sent out after the votes said, “I am proud of all our dedicated Republican candidates who ran for party positions today. We had an open and honest discussion that allowed each candidate to outline their values and their direction for the Republican Party. I will be honored to work with David Fischer, John Kabitzke, Mark Doland and all the members of our State Central Committee going forward to advance the principles of our party and elect Republicans. Together we will continue to build a strong Republican party dedicated to the principles of less government, lower taxes, and a return to the Constitution.”

You May Also Like

Naig Wins Iowa GOP Primary for Ag Secretary, May Not Avoid Convention

Mike Naig wins the Republican primary for Iowa Secretary of Agriculture, but the nomination will likely have to be decided in a special nominating convention. See results from all contested Iowa Republican primary races.

Roberts Lands Endorsements From Former and Current State Representatives

In addition to Shane’s endorsement this morning, Rod Roberts received other endorsements…

K-12 Education Bills of Note Before Iowa Legislature Early in 2018

Shane Vander Hart provides a round-up of K-12 education bills of note that are before the Iowa House and Iowa Senate Education Committees after the first week of the 2018 session of the 87th Iowa General Assembly.