DES MOINES, Iowa – Gov. Kim Reynolds today received word that additional damage caused by the severe weather and flooding that began March 12, 2019, will be eligible for federal disaster assistance.

The Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) has granted Iowa’s request to reopen and extend the incident period for the Presidential Disaster Declaration that was granted for Iowa by President Trump on March 23. The incident period, which defines the period of time during which damage occurred is eligible for federal assistance, had previously been March 12-May 16. That incident period has now been extended to June 15.

“With this extension of the disaster’s incident period, assistance will be available for more Iowans and communities to help them recover from this spring’s destructive flooding and storms,” said Reynolds. “The damage didn’t stop on May 16, and neither has the need for our citizens and towns that need so much help to rebuild and recover.”

Iowa requested the incident period be reopened and extended as the result of heavy rains that began May 17 that caused additional major flooding along the Missouri River, where the failed federal levee system afforded no level of flood protection, and also the Mississippi River.

Iowa’s incident had been closed May 16 when projections from the National Weather Service and the U.S. Army Corps of Engineers pointed to slowly receding flood levels throughout the watersheds of the Missouri and Mississippi rivers. However, additional heavy rains caused river levels to increase and flooding to progressively worsen.

“FEMA doesn’t often reopen and extend an incident period for a Presidential Disaster Declaration ,” said Iowa Department of Homeland Security and Emergency Management (HSEMD) Director Joyce Flinn. “This speaks to the magnitude of this disaster and the enormous need that exists for continued assistance. I thank our FEMA partners for working with us on this extension.”

HSEMD will continue to work with impacted counties and FEMA to identify damage to infrastructure and determine eligibility for funding under the Public Assistance Program, and if the amount of damage to homes and businesses warrants assistance under the Individual Assistance Program.

Currently, 71 counties are eligible to apply for funding through the Public Assistance Program. These counties are: Adair, Adams, Allamakee, Audubon, Boone, Bremer, Buchanan, Buena Vista, Butler, Calhoun, Carroll, Cass, Cherokee, Clay, Clayton, Clinton, Crawford, Dallas, Decatur, Des Moines, Dickinson, Emmet, Fayette, Franklin, Fremont, Greene, Guthrie, Hamilton, Hancock, Hardin, Harrison, Howard, Humboldt, Ida, Iowa, Jasper, Jackson, Jones, Kossuth, Lee, Louisa, Lyon, Madison, Mahaska, Marshall, Mills, Mitchell, Monona, Montgomery, Muscatine, O’Brien, Osceola, Page, Palo Alto, Plymouth, Pocahontas, Polk, Pottawattamie, Ringgold, Sac, Scott, Shelby, Sioux, Tama, Union, Webster, Winnebago, Winneshiek, Woodbury, Worth, and Wright.

Residents and businesses in nine counties are currently eligible to apply for federal Individual Assistance: Fremont, Harrison, Louisa, Mills, Monona, Pottawattamie, Scott, Shelby, and Woodbury.

For more information visit

You May Also Like

Fischer, Bruntz Seek GOP Nomination in Iowa Senate District 15

Two Republicans. David Fischer and Crystal Bruntz, have declared their candidacy in…

Steve King’s Growing Vulnerability

Shane Vander Hart: Congressman Steve King (R-Iowa) has made Iowa’s 4th Congressional District more competitive than it should be.

Iowa Legislature to Resume Session on June 3

Iowa House and Senate leaders announced the Iowa Legislature will reconvene on Wednesday, June 3 at 9:00 am after suspending it on March 16 due to COVID-19.

What Iowa Senators Won’t Hear from Planned Parenthood of the Heartland

Tomorrow, at the Iowa State Capitol, it is the annual “Planned Parenthood…