DES MOINES, Iowa РThe Economic Recovery Advisory Board that Gov. Kim Reynolds announced two weeks ago met for the second time on Thursday afternoon using Zoom.

The board’s purpose is to discuss the state’s economic growth post-COVID-19 and provide policy ideas for the governor before the next legislative session.

Ben McLean, CEO of Ruan Transportation Management Systems, is the board chair and led the meeting that lasted over two hours.

The advisory board members are:

  • Ben McLean, CEO of Ruan Transportation Management Systems (Advisory Board Chairman)
  • Nick Bodesh, President & CEO of Elite Octane¬†
  • Mary Andringa, Chair of the Board of Vermeer¬†
  • Randy Edeker, CEO of Hy-Vee¬†¬†
  • Rosalind Fox, Factory Manager at John Deere¬†
  • Dr. Suresh Gunasekaran, CEO of UHIC¬†
  • Dan Houston, Chairman, President & CEO of Principal Financial Group¬†
  • AJ Loss, CEO of Bush Construction¬†
  • Megan Mckay, President of Peace Tree Brewing Company¬†
  • Emily Schmit, General Counsel of Sukup Manufacturing Co.¬†¬†
  • Barbara Sloniker, Executive Vice President at the Siouxland Chamber¬†
  • Adam Wright, President & CEO of MidAmerican Energy Company¬†
  • Diane Young, Director of Technical Services/Owner at Foundation Analytical Lab¬†

The board heard from different workgroups that include:

Agriculture — Mike Naig, Iowa Secretary of Agriculture and Land Stewardship, with co-chairs Nick Bowdish and Diane Young 

Connectivity — Annette Dunn, Chief Information Officer, Iowa Office of the Chief Information Officer, with chair Dan Houston

Economic Growth — Debi Durham, Director of the Iowa Economic Development Authority and Iowa Finance Authority, with co-chairs Adam Wright and Megan McKay

Education — Dr. Ann Lebo, Director of the Iowa Department of Education, with chair Rosalind Fox

Government — Kraig Paulsen, Director of the Iowa Department of Revenue, with co-chairs Barbara Sloniker and Emily Schmitt

Public Health and Health Care — Kelly Garcia, Director of the Iowa Department of Human Services and Interim Director of the Iowa Department of Public Health, with co-chairs Randy Edeker and Suresh Gunasekaran

Workforce¬†— Beth Townsend, Director of Iowa Workforce Development, with co-chairs Mary Andringa and AJ Loss

Their remaining meetings are:

  • Friday, July 24, 2020 9 a.m.-12 p.m.
  • Thursday, August 13, 2020 9 a.m.-12 p.m.
  • Thursday, September 3, 2020 9 a.m.-12 p.m.
  • Thursday, September 17, 2020 9 a.m.-12 p.m.
  • Tuesday, October 6, 2020 9 a.m.-12 p.m.

Listen to a recording of the meeting below:

See the agenda below:

You May Also Like

Iowa’s Drought Preparations

As we have been clearing snow from the recent snow storms there…

Matt Whitaker Reaches Out to Rural Iowans on Listening Tour

Republican U.S. Senate candidate Matt Whitaker stopped by Carlisle, IA as the fifth stop in his “farm listening tour.”

Branstad-Reynolds Release Sixth General Election TV Ad

(Urbandale, Iowa) ‚Äď The Branstad-Reynolds campaign today released its sixth TV ad…