State Senator Mariannette Miller-Meeks and Iowa Secretary of Agriculture Mike Naig

DAVENPORT, Iowa – A coalition of 114 farm leaders representing all 24 counties and various sectors of agriculture and agribusiness in Iowa’s 2nd Congressional District today announced their support for Republican candidate Mariannette Miller-Meeks.

The deep level of support comes on the heels of Democratic candidate Rita Hart’s announcement that she supports U.S. Senator Cory Booker’s proposed federal legislation to limit livestock production, which agricultural leaders warn could force thousands of Iowa farmers off their land and prevent the next generation of farmers from ever getting started.

The Miller-Meeks Agriculture Coalition chaired by Iowa Secretary of Agriculture Mike Naig includes State Senator Ken Rozenboom of Oskaloosa, State Reps. Jarad Klein of Keota, Ross Paustian of Walcott and Norlin Mommsen of DeWitt, and former state Reps. Betty De Boef of Oskaloosa and Jeff Kaufmann of Wilton.

“With ongoing disruption in our supply chain, Iowa’s agriculture sector in the 2nd District needs a champion in Congress now more than ever before. I know Mariannette Miller-Meeks will be that tireless champion because she is uniquely qualified for the times. As a doctor, public health official and lieutenant colonel, Iowa farmers and producers can count on Mariannette to go to bat for biofuels, fair and free trade, and our rural economy,” Naig said. “I am honored to accept the role as chairman of the Miller-Meeks Agriculture Coalition.”

Coalition members include: Larry Sheets, Rex Harris and Sharron McKkee of Appanoose County; Jake Leabek and Jeff Kauffman of Cedar County; Dale Mastarone of Clarke County; Andrew Naeve, Bob Bowman, Chad Petersen, Curt Allen, Dan Wagener, Dan Smicker, Daniel Will, Dustin Johnson, Jay Petersen, Jeff Venderheiden, Jerry Soper, Joe Diericky and Norlin Mommsen of Clinton County; Aaron Ballanger, Brian Jackson and Travis Harris of Davis County; Bill Salsman of Decatur County; Carol Messer and Gary McPherson of Des Moines County; Judi Collora and Larry White of Henry County; Arlyn Van Zante, Bruce Koester, Coretha Rozendaal, Jenna Smith, Marc Smith and Thad Nearmyer of Jasper County; Blake Metz, Jeff Adam, Landen Schafer, Nick Adam, Ryan Metz, Shawn Adam and Tena Adam of Jefferson County; Beverly Amoroso, Emily Snider, Mark Ogden, Nancy and Ray Slach, and Paul Millice of Johnson County; Gloria Gregory, Jeremiah Ward, Larry Mather, Paul Smith, Scott Leer, Doug and Tanya Webster of Keokuk County; Chris Riegel, Jeff Weisinger, Paul Menke and Terry Donovan of Lee County; David Kerr and Robert McCulley of Louisa County; Nicholas Hunter of Lucas County; Adam Brink, Andrew Ozinga, Betty and Harold De Boef, Calvin Rozenboom, Corey Rozenboom, Holly Padgett, John Knowles, Justin Van Engelenhoven, Ken Rozenboom, Kurtis De Bruin and Michael Jackson of Mahaska County; Aaron Steenhoek and Brynn Eckhoff of Marion County; Donnie Conway and Jordan Haywood of Monroe County; Daniel Freeman, Dianne Glenney, Dwight Glenney, Gage Kent, Keith Bloomer, Pat Corriell, Walter Conlon and Wayne Corriell of Muscatine County; Dorothy Soppeland, Gary Weber, Glen Keppy, Ilien Johnson, Jane Weber, Kerry Gruenhagen, Kris Barrett, Linda Greenlee, Ron Gruenhagen and Ross Paustian of Scott County; Charles Livesay, Constance Morris and Raymond Morris of Van Buren County; Calvin Van Genderen, Clifford Smith, Corwin Williams, David Helgerson, Dick Sample, Gary Yates, Jay Oakes, Jon Simplot, Marvin Creech and Richard Klodt of Wapello County; Charles Sojka, Colton Thrapp and Jarad Klein of Washington County; and Brad Fetters, Deanna Brennecke and Keith Davis of Wayne County.

“I am honored to receive the endorsement of over 100 agriculture leaders across all 24 counties in the district because their very livelihoods depend on federal policies that recognize, encourage and support their value to the U.S. economy and the world’s well being,” Miller-Meeks said. “Our agriculture industry in southeast Iowa has been given inadequate representation in Congress for far too long. In Congress I will fight every day for policies that build up Iowa agriculture instead of shutting it down. Iowa farmers need a champion in Congress; not a bureaucrat lecturing them.”

Miller-Meeks is an ophthalmologist and a 24-year U.S. Army veteran representing Senate District 41 in the Iowa Senate, which includes Davis, Jefferson, Van Buren, and Wapello counties. She is seeking the seat vacated by U.S. Rep. Dave Loebsack, a seven-term Democratic congressman. After 14 years of Democrat control, Iowa’s 2nd Congressional District is now rated as a “toss-up,” according to national political forecasters. Of the 32 congressional districts won by Trump and held by Democrats, Iowa’s 2nd Congressional District is the only open seat.

You May Also Like

Joni Ernst: Forget Area 51—Waste at the Pentagon is Out of This World

U.S. Senator Joni Ernst introduced legislation to address the Department of Defense’s massively inefficient storage and inventory that is costing taxpayers millions.

Christine O’Donnell Believes in Abstinence… Scandalous!

I’m amazed at what the media is throwing at Delaware Senate Candidate…

Looking Back at 2019, Looking Ahead to 2020

Chuck Grassley: Even as we ring in the New Year under the cloud of a presidential impeachment, I’m confident our system of representative government will prevail.

Michael Reagan to Iowa GOP: Expand Your Base

Michael Reagan spoke at the Iowa GOP Reagan Dinner in Des Moines and encourage Republicans and Conservatives to find ways to expand their message.