auto automobile blur buildings
Photo by Pixabay on

MARION, Iowa – On Tuesday, Ashley Hinson, the Republican nominee for Congress in Iowa’s First Congressional District, released her Law Enforcement Advisory Committee comprised of 50 members with each county in the district represented.

Her advisory committee will provide policy recommendations and insight throughout her campaign and more importantly while she is in Congress. The committee is made up of sheriffs, police chiefs, sheriff’s deputies, volunteer firefighters, mental health advocates and law enforcement spouses. Hinson will always support law enforcement and stand against radical policies like defunding the police. Hinson does not support cuts to police budgets. 

“I have made it very clear: I do not support defunding the police or cuts to law enforcement funding. As lawmakers, it is our responsibility to work across the aisle to find solutions that hold bad actors accountable. Defunding the police is not a solution. I look forward to leaning on this advisory committee for advice because these folks are the experts in their fields and are dealing with these issues on the frontlines. I’ll support policies in Congress that keep our neighborhoods safe and protect Iowans,” Hinson said.

“The thing I respect the most about Ashley is her deep commitment to solutions and her accessibility. Law enforcement has a lot of challenges and the environment we’re in is making it increasingly difficult to recruit new officers. I trust Ashley to have our back in Congress and continue to support policies that keep our communities safer, just like she’s done in Des Moines,” Greg Graver, Jones County Sheriff, said.
“We need leaders in Washington, like Ashley, who are willing to have these tough conversations and stand up for law enforcement in Congress. Ashley is an ally of law enforcement, and I know that she will listen to us, and work towards solutions everyday in Washington,” Sarah Lacina, Cedar Rapids Police Officer, stated.

Law Enforcement Advisory Committee members:

AmandaAnderson Law Enforcement Mental Health AdvocateDubuque
RobArchibaldHiawatha City Council Linn
JohnBaberSgt. Iowa State Patrol and Detective in Linn Co. Sheriff’s Office Bremer
GregBeaverMitchell Co. Sheriff Mitchell 
TimBeckmanHoward Co. Volunteer FirefighterHoward
Jason BinaTama Chief of Police Tama
KimCampshureLaw Enforcement Spouse Linn
Jason CromerGarnavillo Fire Department Volunteer FirefighterClayton 
BenjaminDavis Fayette Chief of PoliceFayette
Jeff DriscollRetired Iowa State Patrol Dubuque 
DanFank Worth Co. SheriffWorth 
Marty Fisher Fayette Co. SheriffFayette
JohnGehlingHoward Co. Candidate for SheriffHoward
GregGraverJones Co. Sheriff Jones
JeffHarnishToledo Chief of PoliceTama
Adam HoffmanMayor of Waverly Bremer
SteveHoffmanMarshall Co. SheriffMarshall 
Kris HudsonBelle Plaine Chief of Police Benton 
ShawnIrelandSgt., Linn Co Sheriff Dept. Linn
RickJacobyPoweshiek Co. Reserve Sheriff’s DeputyPoweshiek
BradJensenVolunteer first responder and firefighter in AlburnettLinn
Brent Kilburg Candidate for Sheriff Jackson County Jackson
Sean KinkeadCedar Rapids Police DepartmentLinn
Amy KuceraBellevue Volunteer EMTJackson
DennisKuceraTama Co. Sheriff Tama
SarahLacina-WardenburgCedar Rapids Police DepartmentLinn
John LeClereDelaware Co. SheriffDelaware
DennisMarksChief of Hiawatha PoliceLinn
DanMarxWinneshiek Co. Sheriff Winneshiek
EricMeddBlairstown Fire Dept. Benton 
ClarkMellickAllamakee Co. SheriffAllamakee
RyanMillerMarion Director of Public Safety Linn 
LouisModlinState Center Police OfficerMarshall 
BrettMorrisPublic Works SupervisorBlack Hawk 
JackieNauMental Health ProfessionalLinn
Richard NewtonIndependence FirefighterBuchanan
JamesParish Garnavillo Fire Department Volunteer FirefighterClayton 
DanPickettBremer Co. Sheriff Bremer 
AlexPopenhagenElgin Fire CaptainFayette
RobertRotterIowa Co. SheriffIowa
David SmutzlerDecorah Chief of Police Winneshiek 
JimSorensenJones Co. Courthouse Security Jones
RandyStoneIowa State PatrolTama
LesTaylorBrooklyn Volunteer Fire Department ChiefPoweshiek
Ron TippettBenton Co. SheriffBenton 
MikeTschirgiClayton Co Sheriff Clayton
WilliamTuthillEly City CouncilLinn 
PaulWagnerWaukon Chief of Police Allamakee
PatrickWhiteMarshall Co. Jail Administrator Marshall 
LesWood Reserve Deputy for Benton CountyBenton 
You May Also Like

My Questions About A.J. Spiker Have Been Answered

Well at least one of my questions anyway.  I had a couple…

Tim Pawlenty First Says No Criminal Sanctions for Abortion Then Clarifies

Douglas Burns writing for the Carroll Daily Times Herald reports that former…

Scott Walker to Headline NW Iowa Republican Fundraiser

Governor Scott Walker (R-WI) will headline a multi county Northwest Iowa Republican fundraising event on Friday, April 24 at 7:30pm in Sheldon, IA.

Donald Trump: I’ll Be An Unconventional Candidate

Donald Trump indicated during a press conference in Des Moines, IA that he would not be a traditional candidate in terms of solutions or how he would run.