From left: State Reps. Pat Grassley, Matt Windschitl, John Wills, and Mike Sexton.

DES MOINES, Iowa – On Monday, Iowa House Republicans elected a leadership team to guide the 59 member House Majority caucus through the 89th General Assembly.

State Rep. Pat Grassley, R-New Hartford, was re-elected to continue serving as Speaker of the House. Grassley was first elected Speaker in 2019 and previously served as Chairman of the Appropriations, Agriculture, and Economic Growth committees. Grassley farms with his father and grandfather in Butler County.

“I want to thank the members of the House Republican caucus for continuing to put their trust in me to lead us forward. It is an honor to lead this impressive group of public servants as we work to improve the lives of Iowans,” he said.

“As we look towards the 2021 session, House Republicans will continue to govern in the same way that has put us in the Majority for the last decade. Iowans expect strong leadership from their state lawmakers and that’s what we will do. We will continue to bring a thoughtful and conservative approach to the state budget, ease the pressure of our worker shortage by addressing the issues of child care, housing, and broadband, and help Iowans get back to work, school, and normal life in a safe and responsible manner,” Grassley added.

State Rep. Matt Windschitl, R-Missouri Valley, was re-elected as House Majority Leader. He was first elected Majority Leader in 2019 and previously served as Speaker Pro Tem. Windschitl works for Doll Distributing in Council Bluffs.

“I am incredibly grateful to the House Republican caucus who have again entrusted me to serve as their Majority Leader. This is an honor that I do not take lightly, and I will continue to fulfill the duties of the office in a way that matches the values of this caucus and Iowans,” he said.

“While our membership has changed by expanding our majority, the principles held by the House Republican caucus remain the same. We will continue to give the hard-working taxpayers of Iowa a seat at the table, enhance freedoms and liberties, and prioritize the needs of Iowans every way we can. Iowans made a very clear decision on election day with their votes, and it shows that our state motto is what they embrace and hold dear, ‘Our liberties we prize, and our rights we will maintain.’ House Republicans will work tirelessly to fulfill this motto every way we can,” Windschitl added.

State Rep. John Wills, R-Spirit Lake, was re-elected as Speaker Pro Tem, a position he has held since 2019. Wills works as the Clean Water Coordinator for the Dickinson Soil And Water Conservation District.

State Rep. Mike Sexton, R-Rockwell City, was re-elected as Iowa House Majority Whip, a position he has held since 2019. Sexton owns two small businesses that focus on agricultural compliance and also farms in Calhoun County.

Assistant Leaders will be elected at a later date.

Iowa House Republicans will open the 89th General Assembly with a strong majority of 59 members, including 14 new members.  The 2021 legislative session begins Monday, January 11.

Subscribe For Latest Updates

Sign up to receive stimulating conservative Christian commentary in your inbox.

Invalid email address
We promise not to spam you. You can unsubscribe at any time.
1 comment
  1. The way I feel about politics right now, these might as well be mug shots. I don’t trust either party.

Comments are closed.

You May Also Like

Reynolds Releases First TV Ad in Iowa Governor’s Race

Iowa Governor Kim Reynolds’ campaign released its first TV ad of the 2018 Iowa Governor’s race entitled “Driveway” that highlights her efforts to bring tax reform in order to help create jobs.

Ernst Raises Over $1.1 Million in 2nd Quarter of 2019

The re-election campaign for U.S. Senator Joni Ernst, R-Iowa, reports raising over $1.1 million and has $3.4 million on hand after the 2nd quarter of 2019.

Ernst’s Victory Celebrated By A Pumped Up Crowd At GOP Rally

Through Joni Ernst’s victor in Iowa she delivered the U.S. Senate to the GOP in a race where earlier during the year Bruce Braley was expected to win.

State-by-State Analysis Shows Iowa Has Over $5.5 Billion in Existing Liquidity

With CARES Act funds, the Fed Reserve’s debt purchasing, and Iowa’s reserves, the state has over $5.5 billion in liquidity according to an AFP analysis.